Let’s Go Leon!!

I’m exhausted from a whirlwind trip down south to watch two different groups compete for state titles – volleyball and cross country. The trip down was filled with excitement, and the volleyball match was even more so – winning, winning, losing, then WINNING! The Lady Lions are the 2011 6A FHSAA Volleyball Champions!!!  I have a boss who likes to point out that kids are not the same as they used to be – and it’s probably a good thing. My volleyball girls prove that point:

Leon VolleyballThey practice five and six days a week – work out from after school into the night – while managing their course load. Of the eight seniors on the team, there isn’t one who isn’t in a college level English class, either dual enrollment or AP Literature. The team GPA beats a 3.5 easy. Several SGA officers are leaders of the squad. Almost every girl is an active member in Pierian (our honor society), Anchor (a service group), and/or a content-specific honor group (Spanish, French, Social Studies). There are leaders of the school both on and off the courts….and they’re just plain nice.

Amazing, right?! However, it terrifies me!! Next year, I have a high school student. How in the heck am I going to balance that schedule? Parents out there who do it – advice, please!

Last night, was thrilling! The celebration went on into the morning with parents, staff, and kids. I LOVE being a Leon Lion! I cannot imagine being anywhere else – what a cool community.

Sleep deprived but ready, we scurried over to Dade City to watch the boys place 9th in XC, with several running in the top of the pack. Woot! So, what did I learn the last 24 hours?

  • Leon High School students are just plain amazing.
  • I am not as good on limited sleep as I was in college.
  • Supportive parents can lead kids to accomplish levels of success that are out of this world.
  • Diet Coke is fantastic.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Let’s Go Leon!!

  1. Some days make all the other days worthwhile! I tell everybody all the time that I work with the greatest teens anywhere! Our students are awesome!

Leave a Reply

