Why Should I Be Happy Today?!

Today I was spending time trying to figure out what to post as my happy day picture. Instead I kept thinking of issues that were popping up at work and in my life:

  • At work a 0 dark 30 for testing…AGAIN (Day 6 of 14)
  • No air conditioning…AGAIN (read 87 degrees and 100% humidity at 7:00)
  • Personnel issues at work
  • Scary bad things in my friends’ lives
  • I sweat through my first outfit of the day before lunch
  • I had a second wardrobe issue later in the afternoon

The list continued to grow, but one of my friends said it best – Sometimes life is just messy.

There’s messy things that just happen. We rise to the occasion and put out these fires – or we don’t. And when we don’t, the world continues to turn. Because I don’t know about you, but I’m not solving world peace….I’m just doing my best in the little part of the world I live in.

I’m on Day 44 of my 100 days of this happiness challenge, and I think I have realized that sometime the happiness in my day comes because my life is not that tragic. The “bad” stuff is just little stuff that can be fixed. I have a home. I have food. My kids (although sometimes a total pain) are healthy and generally pretty happy, well-adjusted people. All of my NEEDS are met – not all my wants (still wishing for a million dollars and a maid…and really I’d take just the maid these days).

Just sometimes – life is messy.

Look at me and those well-adjusted kids!

Look at me and those well-adjusted kids!

So I picked up dinner on the way home (no messy kitchen to clean up).

I  cut up a t-shirt I like for a workout shirt.
I rode 5 miles with Sada.

After dinner, I walked and talked with a buddy.

I enjoyed being alive, with a slightly messy but pretty wonderful life.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Why Should I Be Happy Today?!

  1. Cathrine

    Blessings are all around us. Like enduring friendships. I am enjoying your happy days so much!

Leave a Reply

